My name is LaTashia Madsen

It stands to reason that my very first blog post should consist of my reasons for starting this blog. I suppose that I could start with a nice anecdote from my childhood about how I always thought I would want to be a veterinarian. I loved animals, still do. In my young mind, it only made sense to take care of them. Quickly, I threw out that idea due to the fact that veterinarian is still something that I have to google search to figure out the spelling. Seriously, my spelling on it is so terrible that even auto-correct doesn’t have any idea what I’m trying to spell. Another reason, the real reason, I gave up on that idea was because I am terrible with anatomy and biology and basically all natural sciences in general.

I was probably about eight years old when I decided that my perfect career wasn’t perfect for me. For the rest of my young life I have been asked the question “What do you want to be when you grow up?” As I am almost positive everyone else in the entire existence of civilization has been asked that same question almost a million times. Everyone has been asked that by their friends, teachers, parents, relatives, and by strangers who ask way to many personal questions considering you’ll probably never see them again. My answer most of the time has always been, might even still be, that I do not know. It took me a while to come to terms with the fact that my answer, while being in my early twenties, is an okay answer to have. I always thought I would have my life figured out by the time I reached this age especially because, as I scroll through Facebook these past couple of weeks, I see many of my classmates from my highschool graduating class are now graduating from college. It would seem as though they have their lives figured out.

The realization for me attempting to start a blog and start writing for money should have been an easy one. It had been staring me in the face throughout all of my schooling. Many of my english teachers consistently pushed me in the direction of writing and I resisted like a screaming toddler at the grocery store. Maybe, just maybe, I rejected writing out of fear of the public rejecting my written word. It’s absolutely nerve-racking putting a piece of your soul out in the open to be judged. Then there is the possibility that I tried different career paths because I thought there was no money to be made in just writing what I want to write. Afterall, very few authors make enough money to even live off of just from their writing alone. It is a very discouraging field to try to get into. Then again, in this day and age, no job is guaranteed even with an education. Don’t fret for I do have a back up plan to make money and live off of just in case I am not as good of a writer as I know I can be. I will still be working at retail in an attempt to get by in the mean time as well.

This very first blog post is me taking my first steps into the world of being an adult. It’s my way of making my own personal mark on this world. I’m doing this because I hope that I can grow as a writer. I hope I can make a career out of this and leave my dead-end retail job. I hope that I no longer have to dread the future; that I have something to look forward too. I hope that if I do become successful in any way, shape, or form that I can be an inspiration for those who also feel that they do not fit into the world. My name is LaTashia Madsen.

13095843_10154165414232996_382030266010078280_n

 

1 thought on “My name is LaTashia Madsen”

Leave a Reply

